Posted by: marcycalabrese | September 29, 2011

A Great Reason To Work From Home

Just drove my son to school today…..first time in a very long time.

I have been working since way before he was born. I didn’t work for the first six weeks of his life, I was a new mom. Then the day came when I had to hand him over to a babysitter so I could go back to work. The guilt flooded me. I’m suppose to raise this child- not a stranger. What if he thinks that’s his mom?!

Everyday I toted him over to her wondering what I was missing. Then, he asked to go to pre-school (at the age of 2 1/2). Well,  I didn’t feel as guilty, everyone has to start school in their life and I thought, he’ll get a headstart. He loved it and made friends, I felt better, but still feeling bad that I wasn’t a stay-at-home mom. A few more years and I was still dropping him off before I went on to work.

All this time feeling the guilt and missing his impressionable years, I knew I wanted to stay home and work. Kindergarten started, so I went from floral designer to school district employee, to at least be home when he was off from school- a little better. I got to walk him into his class the first day of school and then that was it- the next day came and “I can do it on my own, mom.” Wow, are we now Mr. Independent? Did I end up raising an independent child because I sorta “left him on his own”?

Everyday I dropped  him off outside of the school grounds and he walked up there on his own. Then, I became a cafeteria manager and had to be at work very early. More guilt; I was dropping him off before the sun came up and, he was the first one there. I really wanted to work from home, now!

Middle school came and it started at 9:30 am. I left him home alone to get up and get to school by himself- but he is, after all, Mr. Independence. He did it. By now I have started my quest to “work from home”. I was longing to take him to school again and that was a big reason to work from home. Sometimes it’s the not the “grand” material things that get us motivated to start our own business, but it’s the more important ones that give us our “why”.

My son started high school and is a distance away. He has grown into a fine, young man that makes me very proud!                        Today, I was able to take him to school and it sure felt good. It wasn’t dark and he wasn’t the first one there. I was like all the other parents today.

Leave a Reply

Categories

